ISO 13485 certification

ISO 22000


What is HACCP?

HACCP stands for Hazard analysis and critical control points. Its is a systematic preventive methodology to food safety from biological, chemical, and physical hazards that can cause the finished product to be unsafe. The aim is to identify the risks and design measurements to reduce these risks to a safe level.

HACCP system is used at all stages of a food chain, from food production and preparation processes including packaging, distribution, and conditioning. The Food and Drug Administration (FDA) and the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) make it mandatory for HACCP programs for juice and meat. Meat HACCP systems are regulated by the USDA, while seafood and juice are regulated by the FDA. The use of HACCP is currently voluntary but highly recommended in other food industries.

Hazard Analysis and Critical Control Point (HACCP) system which was developed by NASA is usually implemented hand in hand with the CODEX Alimentarius. HACCP is a system, which identifies, evaluates, and controls hazards that are significant for food safety. According to the Codex Alimentarius the main question to be asked is: "what is necessary and appropriate on the grounds of the safety and suitability of food for consumption?"

ISO 22000 contains auditable requirements, and combines the HACCP plan with prerequisite programs. Hazard analysis is key to an effective food safety management system, since conducting a hazard analysis assists in organizing the knowledge required to establish an effective combination of control measures. ISO 22000 requires that all hazards that may be reasonably expected to occur in the food chain, including hazards that may be associated with the type of process and facilities used, are identified and assessed. It thus provides the means to determine and document why certain identified hazards need to be controlled by a particular organization and why others not. During hazard analysis, the organization determines the strategy to be used to ensure hazard control by combining the prerequisite programs and the HACCP plan.

The seven principles of HACCP are:

HACCP can be applied independently of other management system standards or integrated with existing management system requirements such as ISO 22000, ISO 14001 and OHSAS 18000. It can also be stand-alone but can also be implemented in a way that it comprehensively integrates specific food safety regulations Training is available for the different industries: USDA human Food GMP, FDA Fish and Fishery Product HACCP and FDA Meat and Poultry HACCP.

SAE Logo